Will I Get Sent To Jail For A First-Offense DUI In New Jersey?
Posted January 27th, 2023.
To prevent drunk driving fatalities, New Jersey courts take DUI charges pretty seriously. Getting charged with a DUI has the potential to impact someone’s entire life, temporarily or permanently. This is why many first-time drunk driving offenders worry about the penalties that they’ll receive in New Jersey. If you’ve recently been charged with a DUI, you might want to know if you risk the possibility of jail time. No need to panic because our excellent law firm is on your side! Continue reading to learn more about the possible penalties you could face or reach out to a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney today for high-quality legal counseling.
CAN YOU GET JAIL TIME FOR A FIRST-OFFENSE DUI?
While it’s possible to get jail time for a first-time offense DUI, it’s relatively uncommon for most of these offenders. Part of the reason for this is that DUIs are technically considered traffic offenses and not criminal charges. Incarceration is not a mandatory penalty for a first drunk driving offense, and most drivers aren’t given jail time until their third offense. The maximum incarceration penalty for a first-offense DUI charge is 30 days imprisonment.
WHAT OTHER PENALTIES CAN I GET?
The penalties you face for a DUI conviction depend on your criminal history and the circumstances of the incident. First-time offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of less than 0.10% have the highest chance of reducing or perhaps even dismissing their charges. However, these offenders could face other penalties if while driving under the influence, they crashed and injured someone. In this scenario, the DUI offender could be given jail time for their other charges from the accident.
Most of the time, first-time offenders face fines up to $4,000, a three-month license suspension, required use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for at least three months, and participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for two consecutive six-hour days. However, you could face more severe penalties if you were caught driving with a BAC over 0.10%. High-BAC drivers might be given higher fines and a longer license suspension (usually between seven months and a year).
Have you recently been convicted of a DUI in New Jersey? Are you seeking an effective criminal defense attorney that has your best interests in mind? Look no further because the Law Offices of Mark S. Guralnick are here to fight for you! Contact our highly experienced team today for an initial consultation.