Should I File a Police Report After a Car Accident in New Jersey?
Posted November 23rd, 2023.
If you experience a car accident in New Jersey, there will be several things to do at that moment. You’ll need to make sure you and any passengers are safe and uninjured, and if injured, on the way to receiving medical assistance. Besides that, you should be gathering evidence, documenting the scene, and collecting witness reports. But should you file a police report after an accident? It is arguably one of the most important things to do after an accident, and simultaneously, completely optional. Keep reading to learn New Jersey’s requirements for reporting car accidents. If you’ve been injured in an accident, do not wait to call a Cherry Hill personal injury attorney.
When Does New Jersey Absolutely Require You to File a Police Report After an Accident?
Under New Jersey law, you need to contact a police officer in the case of death, injury, and property damage over $500. The statute indicates that you should contact the police through the fastest available form of communication.
Usually, this means either you or a passenger should call the police. You may very likely face fines and perhaps even criminal charges for refusing or forgetting to send in a police report. If you don’t report an accident that resulted in death, injury, or significant damage, you may face a fine between $30 and $100. In addition, you may find your license suspended.
Consequences of Not Getting a Police Report
There are a number of risks, legal and extra-legal. For instance, you may think the injuries you suffered are comparatively small ones, but even small accidents can give a person long-term repercussions. You may not see or notice the full extent of injuries immediately following your accident, particularly given the presence of adrenaline in your body. Medical professionals, on the other hand, know how to read subtle signs of injury, and calling the police may also bring medical professionals faster. Finally, if you were hit by an uninsured motorist, then those circumstances can make a police report crucial.
Besides the fact that above a certain amount of damages, it is obligatory to report a car accident, having a police report can make it easier to get a higher compensation, provided you weren’t at fault. Your attorney can then use the police report to your benefit when dealing with insurance companies and filing your personal injury claim.